

January 1, 2019

Maryland Board of Public Works:

We urge you to deny TransCanada's proposal to build a gas pipeline through Maryland. We believe this project would reverse course on our state's efforts to protect the health of our residents and combat climate change.

We understand that TransCanada is seeking an easement from the Board of Public Works to construct a 3.37 mile, 8" distribution line for fracked gas from Pennsylvania to be transported to West Virginia. Given that Maryland has banned fracking, it defies our state's existing energy policy to bring the same public health risks to our residents by way of a pipeline. Moreover, enabling fossil fuel production runs counter to our state's goals of increasing renewable energy production.

The construction and operation of the Potomac Pipeline would impact at least 10 wetlands and 19 streams, in addition to the Potomac River. The pipeline right-of-way includes a Potomac River crossing through the C&O Canal and the Maryland Rail Trail. In addition to violating the spirit of our renewable energy portfolio and fracking ban, the TransCanada pipeline also directly endangers public health.

We urge you to deny this request.

Sincerely,

Senator Brian Feldman Senator Susan Lee Senator Douglas J. J. Peters Senator Will Smith Senator Ron Young Senator Bobby Zirkin Senator-elect Jill P. Carter Senator-elect Ben Kramer Senator-elect Clarence Lam Senator-elect Jeff Waldstreicher Senator-elect Mary Washington Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary Delegate Kumar Barve **Delegate Ben Brooks** Delegate Al Carr Delegate Mark Chang Delegate Bonnie Cullison Delegate Kathleen Dumais Delegate Eric Ebersole Delegate Diana Fennell Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo

Delegate Tawanna Gaines Delegate Jim Gilchrist Delegate Cheryl Glenn Delegate Anne Healey Delegate Shelly Hettleman Delegate Terri Hill Delegate Steve Lafferty Delegate Robbyn Lewis Delegate Brooke Lierman Delegate Eric Luedtke Delegate David Moon Delegate Nick Mosby Delegate Edith J. Patterson Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate Susie Proctor Delegate Dana Stein Delegate Charles Sydnor Delegate Kris Valderrama Delegate Alonzo Washington Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Karen Lewis Young

Delegate Pat Young Delegate-elect Gabe Acevero Delegate-elect Heather Bagnall Delegate-elect Regina T. Boyce Delegate-elect Alice Cain Delegate-elect Lorig Charkoudian Delegate-elect Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate-elect Jessica Feldmark Delegate-elect Michele Guyton Delegate-elect Julian Ivey Delegate-elect Ken Kerr Delegate-elect Lesley Lopez Delegate-elect Sara Love Delegate-elect Julie Palakovich Carr Delegate-elect Lily Qi **Delegate-elect Mike Rogers** Delegate-elect Emily Shetty Delegate-elect Stephanie Smith Delegate-elect Jared Solomon Delegate-elect Vaughn Stewart Delegate-elect Jen Terrasa