Last night CCAN held its first annual Virginia Climate Champions Ceremony at the beautiful St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Old Town Alexandria. We were honored to present “Virginia Climate Leadership Awards” to Congressman Jim Moran; State Senator Patsy Ticer; Supervisor Andrea McGimsey, Loudoun County; Heidi Binko, Associate Director of Special Climate Initiatives at the Rockefeller Family Fund; and Burke resident Edward Jaffee.

From left to right: Supervisor Andrea McGimsey, Grassroots
Leader Ed Jaffee, Congressman Jim Moran, Senator Patsy Ticer.

The speeches were inspiring, the music (by EcoVoce) was great, and the food (courtesy of Restaurant Eve) was delicious. Unfortunately, Heidi Binko fell ill at the last minute and was unable to come. We’ve mailed her her richly deserved award.

Here’s what Congressman Moran had to say:

“Sadly, in the wake of the BP oil spill, the mantra

Recommended Posts